

King of Spain Regatta

Saturday & Sunday, July 13 - 14, 2024 Marina del Rey, California USA

NOTICE OF RACE



GENERAL INFORMATION

The Organizing Authority (OA) is California Yacht Club (CYC), located at 4469 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 Phone: 310.823.4567 | Web: <u>www.calyachtclub.com</u> Event Chair: Marylyn Hoenemeyer | See NoR 13 for contact information

1. RULES

- 1.1 The event is governed by the rules as defined in <u>The Racing Rules of Sailing</u> (RRS).
- 1.2 US Sailing Prescription RRS 81, Indemnification or Hold Harmless Agreements, does not apply.

2. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

The Sailing Instructions (SI) will be posted by Wednesday, July 10 on the Official Notice Board.

3. COMMUNICATION

- 3.1 The Official Notice Board is the <u>King of Spain</u> webpage on the CYC website.
- 3.2 [DP] All boats shall carry a VHF radio capable of communicating on normal domestic and international channels.
- 3.3 On the water, the Race Committee (RC) may make courtesy broadcasts to competitors on VHF radio, including starting penalties. The channel will be stated in the SI.
- 3.4 [DP] While racing, except in an emergency, a boat shall not make voice or data transmissions and shall not receive voice or data communication that is not available to all boats.

4. ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

- 4.1 The event is open to Star Class boats that are in compliance with <u>Star Class Rule (STCR) 21</u>, Eligible Boats.
- 4.2 Eligible boats may enter by completing Online Registration at the link on the <u>Official Notice Board</u> and paying the required fees by the entry deadline of 1000 on Saturday, July 13. Please include the names of both skipper and crew when registering.
- 4.3 Entries submitted after that time may be accepted at the discretion of the Event Chair. These entries are subject to a late fee of \$20.

5. FEES

The entry fee is \$65 for entries received with the required fees paid by Saturday, July 6. Thereafter, until the entry deadline, the entry fee is \$90.

6. SCHEDULE

Seven (7) races are scheduled: four (4) on Saturday and three (3) on Sunday. The Race Committee (RC) reserves the right to run more races on Sunday if fewer than the scheduled number of races are completed on Saturday. The RC, at its discretion, may run fewer total races.

Saturday	July 6		Discounted entry fee deadline
Saturday	July 13	1000	Entry deadline
Saturday	July 13	1230	First warning signal - subsequent races to start ASAP
Sunday	July 14	1230	First warning signal - subsequent races to start ASAP
-	-	After racing	Awards ceremony at CYC

7. VENUE

The racing area is on Santa Monica Bay with the starting area approximately one (1) nautical mile northwest of the Marina del Rey breakwater.

8. COURSES

Courses are a windward / leeward format.

9. SCORING

- 9.1 One (1) race is required to be completed to constitute a series.
- 9.2 (a) When four (4) or fewer races have been completed, a boat's series score shall be the total of her race scores.
 - (b) When five (5) or more races have been completed, a boat's series score shall be the total of her race scores excluding her worst score.

10. SUPPORT TEAMS

- 10.1 [DP] Competitors who wish to keep support person vessels (SPVs) at CYC must make prior arrangements with the CYC Dockmaster for use of the hoist, trailer storage and in-the-water berthing. See NoR 13 for Dockmaster contact information.
- 10.2 [DP] All SPVs shall carry and monitor a VHF radio capable of communicating on normal domestic and international channels.
- 10.3 The conduct of SPVs and support persons are governed by the SI.

11. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Competitors in the event are participating entirely at their own risk. See RRS 3, Decision to Race. By participating in the event, each competitor agrees to release the race organizers (organizing authority, host yacht club, race committee, protest committee, sponsors, and any others acting in an official capacity for the event) from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in the event to the fullest extent permitted by law.

12. PRIZES

- 12.1 The awards ceremony will be held at CYC after racing on Sunday.
- 12.2 Trophies are awarded based on the number of entries.
- 12.3 The names of the winning skipper and crew will be inscribed on the King of Spain Perpetual Trophy once it has been commissioned.

13. FURTHER INFORMATION

Event Chair: Marylyn Hoenemeyer at hoenemeyer@roadrunner.com or 310.617.3870.

CYC Dockmaster: Chase Young at chase.young@calyachtclub.net or 310.823.4567.

Hospitality: Competitors and their guests are invited to use available club facilities during the event. Complimentary refreshments are provided following racing each day.

Boat Launching, Berthing & Storage: Competitors are invited to use the dry storage, hoists and assigned docks at CYC during the event, subject to applicable CYC guidelines and protocols. For information and arrangements regarding boat storage immediately preceding and following the event, contact the CYC Dockmaster.



Original King of Spain Trophy



King of Spain Trophy

for the International Star Class

2023 – Eric Doyle / Payson Infelise 2022 – Eric Doyle / Payson Infelise 2021 - Erik Lidecis / Frank Dair 2019 – Eric Doyle / Brian O'Mahoney 2018 – Eric Doyle / Payson Infelise 2017 – Eric Doyle / Payson Infelise 2016 – Eric Doyle / Payson Infelise 2015 – Jim Buckingham / Austin Sperry 2014 – Jim Buckingham / Austin Sperry 2013 – Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel 2012 – Jim Buckingham / Austin Sperry 2011 – Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel 2010 – R Hagebols / P Chadwick 2009 - Ben Mitchell / Hal Haenel 2008 – Andy MacDonald / M Lilijedahl 2007 – Andv Horton / Brad Nichol 2006 – Fredrik Loof / Anders Ekstrom 2005 – John Dane III / Austin Sperry 2004 - Eric Doyle / Chuck Beek/ 2003 – Erik Lidecis / Dan Roehl 2002 – Max Treacy / Anthony Shanks 2001 – George Szabo / Austin Sperry 2000 – Vince Brun / Brian Terhaar 1999 – Vince Brun / Rodrigo Meirelles 1998 – Eric Doyle / Brian Terhaar 1997 – J.A. MacCausland / Phil Trinter 1996 – Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump 1995 – Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump 1994 – Vince Brun / Mike Dorgan 1993 - Steve Gould / Hal Haenel 1992 – Vince Brun / Brian Ledbetter 1991 – Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel

1990 – Barton Beek / Hugo Schirer 1989 – Steve Gould / Greg Siek 1988 – Jack Dollahite / Dietrich 1987 – Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump 1986 – Mark Revnolds / Hal Haenel 1985 – Vince Brun / Todd Cozzens 1984 – Henry Sprague / E. Bennett 1983 – Mark Reynolds 1982 – John Driscoll 1981 – Trigve Lijestrand 1980 – Trigve Lijestrand 1979 – Bob McNiel 1978 – Benat Hellsten 1977 – Paul Burrard 1976 – Rick Taylor / Richard Loufek (Tornado) 1975 – R. Paul Allen 1974 – Cappy Sheeley 1973 – Timmothy Taylor (Tornado) 1972 – Harry G. Melges Jr. (Soling) 1971 – Robert Mosbacher 1970 – Robert Andre (Finn) 1969 – Lowell North / Peter Barrett 1937 – Owen Churchill 1935 – Owen Churchill 1934 – Owen Churchill 1932 – Owen Churchill 1931 – Dan Merle-Smith 1930 – Lewis Luckenback 1929 – Owen Churchill